I’ve had my Holga 135BC for almost a year now and I love shooting with it! It’s really colorful (I chose the multi-color) and it’s very handy. I always bring it so I can just snap to my heart’s delight.The first films I used are expired Fuji Superia (check my previous post) 200s and 400s and it created this dreamy and very analogue-looking pictures, it looked like I took them 10 years ago!

This year, I am planning to get more into Lomography. I took the first step by buying myself fresh films (it’s more expensive than the expired) and I am planning to buy a new camera (or two). But before I buy a camera, I always need to ask these three questions to myself first before I save for it. Planning something before buying is a very clever thing to do *wink*.

1. How would my photos look like?

I never wanted to have two cameras with the same feature, though some people would want to just for their collection, I always think of having different cameras with different features so that my money would be worth it. For example, since I already have a Holga 135BC which has vignette (or black corners) and the basics, I am not (not in the near future) planing to buy a Holga 120 (uses 120mm film) who has – almost – vignetting effects.

Holga 135BC picture by Moi

Holga 120 picture by: Kamila Kulik

2. What film am I going to use?

There are three different sizes of films:

110mm Film

135mm Film

120mm Film

Why the size of film is important to me, it’s because of how much it costs. I am on a budget and the price of the films and how easy I could get them is really important to me. You can find 135mm film in almost any photography shop and it costs really cheap versus the 120mm film and 110mm is very rare. I am not saying that 135mm is better than the 3, but the price is really important to me. I am not saying, too, that you shouldn’t try using all 3, actually, I am planning to use all of those films, though not right now, maybe in the near future.

3. Where can I process the films?

Some photography shops don’t process 110mm and 120mm films so you should check your local shops first to know whether they can process your film!

I am still a newbie (and almost all my ‘expert’ lomographer friends say that there are no ‘experts’ in this hobby because we learn different things everyday in Lomography) and I am pretty sure I am going to add so much more things in this list as I get by. How about you? Do you have your own list? Share them here!

xo D

